ISD - The International School of Dakar

IB Curriculum

IB Diploma Programme students study six courses at higher level or standard level. Students must choose one subject from each of groups 1 to 5, thus ensuring breadth of experience in languages, humanities, the experimental sciences and mathematics.

The six compulsory subject areas are:

  • Group 1: Language A: Studies in Language and Literature
  • Group 2: Language B: Acquisition
  • Group 3: Individuals and Societies
  • Group 4: Experimental Sciences
  • Group 5: Mathematics
  • Group 6: The Arts

The sixth subject may be an arts subject chosen from group 6, or the student may choose another subject from groups 1 to 5.
At least three and not more than four subjects are taken at higher level (recommended 240 teaching hours), the others at standard level (150 teaching hours). These subjects are largely externally assessed by examinations in May of the second year.

In order to attain the IB Diploma a candidate must fulfill a number of requirements, including:

  • 24 points in total, at least 12 of which are HL
  • no SL may be a grade 1
  • no HL may be a grade 2
  • a grade A-D in TOK and the EE
  • complete the CAS requirements

Students who successfully complete two Language A  courses can be awarded a Bilingual Diploma.

Download the print version: IB Diploma Programme Guide

Students will develop an understanding of the IB learner profile. The ten aspirational qualities of the learner profile inspire and motivate the work of teachers, students and schools, providing a statement of the aims and values of the IB and a definition of what we mean by “international-mindedness”. IB learners strive to be inquirers, thinkers, communicators, risk-takers, knowledgeable, principled, open-minded, caring, balanced and reflective.

Download the print version: IB Learner Profile Booklet

In addition, the programme has three core requirements that are included to broaden the educational experience and challenge students to apply their knowledge and understanding.

The Extended Essay is a requirement for students to engage in independent research through an in-depth study of a question relating to one of the subjects they are studying.

Theory of Knowledge is a course designed to encourage each student to reflect on the nature of knowledge by critically examining different ways of knowing (perception, emotion, language and reason) and different kinds of knowledge (scientific, artistic, mathematical and historical).

Creativity, Action, Service requires that students actively learn from the experience of doing real tasks beyond the classroom. Students can combine all three components or do activities related to each one of them separately.